Unemployment Compensation Hearing

I am fairly new in my position as hr mgr at my company, so this will be my first hearing, and although I do know more or less what types of supporting documentation I need to take to the hearing, I would feel much better obtaining any tips that any of you more seasoned hr professionals out there may have for me...

This was a long term employee (11 years) who was out on a long workers compensation leave (repeated hernia surgeries), for approximately a year, but he was released to return to work, restricted duty, about 4 months after his surgery, but because we had had a large layoff whereby we let about half of our staff go, we did not have any light duty positions available, so he continued to be out on w. comp and they of course continued to pay him. Finally he agreed to settle his case and his date of final settlement, where he signed the usual voluntary resignation letter, was December 19, 2002.

He then when to the u. comp office and claimed for unemployment. They sent me a form, and I replied that he voluntarily quit by accepting a w. comp settlement, and I added the above information about the lack of light duty etc. so that they would make a fair determination. He appealed, hence my hearing on Friday!

Besides taking the signed agreement, and any other supporting w. comp docs showing that it was voluntary (and the w. comp judge would never sign off on any case unless it was totally agreed upon by the employee), what else should I take? I just want to do what's fair for everyone of course.....

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Ana

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • What else should you take? Your legal counsel. Here in NC, Employment Security Commission hearings are adversarial in nature. It's like going to court. It seems you have everything you need documentation-wise but, since this is your first time doing this, you should notify your unemployment board that you're bringing an attorney.