HR Employees

Do you any of you find the following to be a violation of HR confidentiality:

Discussing the necessary aspects of a background check for a new employee in a newly created job in front of an hourly, non-HR employee?

Disclosing in front of employees at large that a boyfriend broke up with someone when the information was disclosed for necessary purposes in the HR office and it was stated 3X during the conversation this information was confidential?

Handing out a paycheck to an employee who'd just received a raise, and declaring in front of his co-workers that you wanted to see the look on his face when he saw how much the raise was?

I've been coaching and counseling her for 9 months. She did great during the first 3 months when I was at her side almost every minute to train her while bringing in 60 new employees. She is exempt, well-compensated and has a BS degree in HR. Her attendance is good. I hired her - she had a spark in her eye, had an anxiousness to please, and a well-documented background in our business and education to boot. I must suck as a supervisor.

I finally felt I had to write her up regarding confidentiality issues because "talking" to her was not successful. Did I fly off the handle? She's totally tee'd off at me now, doing the bare minimum, her attention to detail is average and now sinking, and I recently begged in har-de-har-har for H'ween suggestions to spark some morale, but I feel awful. For her, for the company, and for me. (Sob sniff, I'm working 60+ hours per week...hope you have plenty of hankies...).

Seriously, I've helped supervisors make these decisions for years. But when it comes to me it seems I'm a total wuss.

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added