Access to Employee Files

I am fairly new to this position and have had no formal HR training.  Please HELP.   Who can have access to an employee's file?  I know that there are sections that are confidential and some that are not.  Does the employee have access to the whole file or can the employer say no to certain areas of documents?  Also this is a municipality and our Councilmen would like to have free access to the files.  I don't think they should have any greater access than anyone else.  Who is right?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You are correct to limit who has access to employee personnel files.  The employee themselves must be granted access to the entire file upon request.  Usually you can schedule this for a convenient time/place. Each state has guidelines on how long you have to grant access, i.e. 24 hours, 3 days, 7 days, etc.

As for others, each person requesting a file should be given only what directly relates to their job.  So if they have supervisor responsiblity they should be able to see all performance reviews, attendance records, disciplinary notices, etc., but not benefits info, FML or leave of absence info, garnishment, etc.  Those who conduct training may need to pull training records, but again, should not be given the entire file.

My employee files actually have 4 folders: General Employment/Performance, Benefits, Training/Development, Safety. That way I can pull only what is needed.

• What state are you in?  It will make a difference in the answer to your question.  There are some states that allow employee access to their records as well as allow them to make copies.  There are other states that the employee has to make the request in writing.  Then other states limit what things an employee can see in their own file.  It really varies depending on where you are.