Accommodations Deadline?

Is there a deadline that we have to meet when asked for accommodations? Like within 24 hours or 2 weeks or something?

Thanks....

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Not sure, unless your state has a dictate.

My answer would be my canned answer--"it depends," and "what is reasonable?"

I think you have to look at the situation and the information you have. Do you have enough information to make a decision? What is the level of accomodation required? Specifically, is the employee prevented from working while you make a decision? Are you trying to determine what a reasonable accomodation would be?

I'm not an expert on ADA like some other forumites may be, but I can't imagine that legislation will dictate a timeline in the decision-making process when every case has to be reviewed individually and within the context of reasonableness to the employer. I guess I would answer with a question--what is the cause for not yet having a decision?

Thanks,
  • I've been trying several accommodations but the ee keeps saying "this one doesn't work" -- we're on #3 now. The first attempt was in her office within a couple hours of my receiving her physician's letter.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 04-27-06 AT 11:57AM (CST)[/font][br][br]#3? Keep in mind the accommodation must only be 'reasonable' not necessarily what the employee 'wants'.

Anne in Ohio
  • xclap

James Sokolowski
    HRhero.com
  • Remember it is an interactive process......be patient and reasonable.....then if you decide enough is enough, and you can say yes I have been patient and reasonable....
    Then you can be done.

Balloonman
  • Thanks to all of you -- I believe that I've provided at least 3 "reasonable" accommodations. The ee is a very unreasonable person and is now demanding an entire new work station!